2018 South Australian council elections

Published Date Time

Elections are currently underway for 67 local councils around South Australia. Held every four years, voting is by postal ballot and is not compulsory. Ballot packs will be sent to approximately 1.3 million enrolled electors from 22 to 26 October with voting to close on 9 November 2018. Candidates will stand for 637 councillor positions and 52 mayoral positions. Voting is open to residents, rateable or non-Australian citizens who are resident for a minimum of one month, property owners, and occupiers or landlords of rateable properties. One of ECSA's innovations for these council elections is a new portal that helps candidates prepare their nomination form, candidate profile and upload an optional photo. So far more than 60% of nominations have been created via the portal. More information is available on the ECSA website.