Go to top of page

South Australia

Head of State: Governor
Leader of Government: Premier
Electoral Authority: Electoral Commission of South Australia
Parliaments and Local Councils Legislative Council House of Assembly Local Councils
Terms of Members of Parliament/Council 8 years. 4 years fixed (third Saturday in March). Elections held every four years.
Voting closes at 5pm on the last business day before the second Saturday in November.
Number of Members 22 with the State serving as a single constituency. 47 elected from single-member electoral districts. Varies between Councils.
In 2014 there were 702 Council positions across 67 Councils.
Electoral Legislation Electoral Act (1985). Local Government Act (1999).
Local Government (Elections) Act (1999) & Regulations.
City of Adelaide Act (1998).
Voting Systems
Proportional Representation count, (modified Hare-Clark) and above the line voting. Full Preferential. Full Preferential – Absolute majority needed. Partial preferential voting (up to the number to be elected) and proportional representation count.
Elections conducted entirely by postal voting.
Enrolment and Voting Eligibility Compulsory enrolment and voting for Australian citizens 18 years and over who have lived at their present address for one month. Provisional enrolment for 16 year olds.
British subjects who are not Australian citizens eligible to re-enrol if they were on the State roll or roll of the Commonwealth within period 26 October 1983 and 25 January 1984 inclusive.
Voting is not compulsory.
House of Assembly electors are eligible to vote and non naturalised citizens; non resident owner or non-resident occupier (tenant) can apply for a voting entitlement.
Redistribution Provisions and Frequency None. The Constitution Act (1934) requires that a redistribution occur after every general election.
The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (EDBC) conducts the redistributions and consists of the senior puisne judge of the Supreme Court (SA), the Electoral Commissioner and the Surveyor-General. The number of electors in each district should be approximately the same with a threshold of 10%.
All councils must conduct an elector representation review at least once every 8 years which the Electoral Commissioner must certify.
Council or public initiated submissions relating to
  1. alteration of council boundaries
  2. alteration to composition/structure of council including creation, alteration or abolition of wards are referred to the Minister of Local Government under the Local Government Act (1999).
Joint Rolls Arrangements between Commonwealth, States and Territories Since 1920. Local Government (Elections) Act (1999) specifies House of Assembly electors to comprise part of Councils' voters rolls. (The other part comprises electors with council specific entitlements.)
Funding, Donations and Disclosure Provisions None All candidates must complete a campaign donation return form. City of Adelaide requires campaign donation and expenditure disclosure.
Interesting and Particular
The EDBC must ensure that, as far as is practicable, that the electoral redistribution is fair to prospective candidates and groups of candidates, so that if candidates of a particular group attract more than 50% of the popular vote, including preferences, they will be elected in sufficient numbers to enable a government to be formed. The 'fairness' criterion is unique to SA as it is the only State or Territory in Australia to give consideration to the political outcome of boundary distributions. Electoral material must comply with the principle of 'truth in advertising'. The Electoral Act (1985) considers inaccurate and misleading advertising to a material extent to be an offence and gives the Electoral Commissioner powers to require offending material to be retracted or withdrawn.  

Related South Australian electoral information